Pet Blogger Challenge 2015

I just heard of this Pet Blogger Challenge! I am right on time as we are suppose to post today, January 10th!

http://gopetfriendlyblog.com/its-the-2015-pet-blogger-challenge/

DSCN2006

1. How long have you been blogging? And, for anyone stopping by for the first time, please give us a quick description of what your blog is about.

At the end of January we will officially have been blogging for one year! Chase the Sheltie is a dog blog detailing the everyday life of my dog! He lives in a small town in Canada. He has osteoarthritis and elbow dysplasia… so another aim is to have posts that may help others struggling with one or both of these conditions.

2. Tell us one thing that you accomplished on your blog during 2014 that made you proud.

Getting 50 followers! When I first started this blog, I thought I was only going to blog for myself. I wanted something that I could look back on forever. Now I love seeing other dog blogs (and cat blogs) and I love interacting with other dog lovers!

3. What lessons have you learned this year – from other blogs, or through your own experience – that could help us all with our own blogs?

People enjoy hearing animals talk… we all know they don’t but I find people respond better when I speak as Chase

4. What have you found to be the most successful way to bring traffic to your blog, other than by writing great content?

Using tags and posting on other blogs that are similar to mine in hopes that their readers will start following me.

5. What was your most popular blog post this year? Did it surprise you that it was your most popular?

My 12 Dog Days of Christmas post where I made up my own blog challenge was my most popular post. I was surprised people were that interested in it! Hopefully I can come up with another blog challenge this year!

6. What was your favorite blog post to write this year?

The 12 Dog Days of Christmas posts, I am allowed to say all 12 of them!? I loved doing those! It was so much fun to take all those pictures!

7. Has your policy on product reviews and/or giveaways changed this year?

I do not do reviews or giveways

If you don’t do reviews, is this something you’d like to do more of? What hurdle is getting in your way?

I would not mind doing review of products, it’s something to think about! I think one of my challenges is location… I live in Canada so the products available to me are different from many of my readers.

8. What’s your best piece of advice for other bloggers?

Write for yourself first! No post is silly or not worth it. Even just a picture of your dog is a good post!

9. What goals do you have for your blog in 2015?

If I could hit 100 followers by the end of 2015, that would be incredible!

10. If you could ask the pet blogging community for help with one challenge you’re having with your blog, what would it be?

How to gain followers! Other than following blogs and writing comments, I am not sure what else to do.

18 responses to “Pet Blogger Challenge 2015

  1. Glad you joined in too, how exciting to be getting to the end of your first year!

  2. First, nice to meet you. Beautiful Sheltie! You are doing all the right things, write for you, write what you want. The followers will follow.

  3. Congratulations on your first year! How exciting.

    Mary’s right. Just keep going and you’ll meet more people. It takes time.

    Blog hops (like this one) are a good way to make friends. And lots of people have a favorite social media site where they’ll promote their blog. I mostly use Facebook. But if you like taking pictures, Pinterest might be a good fit for you.

    After all, Chase is very photogenic.

  4. Yeah!!!! Love your answers! You and Chase are some of my favorite friends 🙂

  5. We think you are doing a great job! Are you a member of the BlogPaws community? That is a great way to gain followers, as well as participating in Blog Hops like this one. Also, you are right, following and commenting on other blogs is another great way! You CAN do product reviews and live in Canada….start with products that YOU use in your own home……..contact the brands that you love…….tell them about your love for them……..voila! You will be able to do product reviews!

  6. Congrats on the (almost) 1 year blogversary. That’s pawsome! Well done, Chase, looking forward to reading all about your adventures in 2015. ❤

  7. Nice to meet you and congrats for celebrating your one year blogging anniversary.

  8. It’s so very nice to “meet” you! Congrats on your first blogging anniversary – hope you have more more years to come! Keep up the great work! 🙂

  9. I like the idea of a 12 Days of Christmas series. I wanted to do a product review series like that, but alas it never transpired 😦

    I usually follow blogs through Feedly not WordPress. There are many ways to gain dedicated followers besides your WordPress subscriber count. I’ve found the best way is through email. I’ve seen a lot of people implement the small popup in the bottom right corner. I haven’t tried this, but since I’ve been seeing it more and more frequently I think it may have a good optin rate.

    Good luck with your blog in 2015!

  10. Thanks so much for participating in the Challenge, and congratulations on your first blogiversary! I agree with Colby that I usually follow blogs though Feedly, just because it’s a more convenient way to read the posts that are new since I last visited. I think social media is a great way to find new followers, and Instagram might be a nice fit for you since Chase is such a handsome boy. You can use tags like #dogsofinstagram to attract more people, and mention your blog in your bio so people know where to find you. You could also tie your Instagram account to Facebook and Twitter to cover more social media platforms without spending any additional time. I hope that gives you some ideas and that you have a great 2015!

Leave a Reply

