Help?! Weight loss for dogs!

As some of you may have noticed, I’ve been trying to get Chase to lose weight. It’s been a tough road! He has actually GAINED weight while on diet/exercise plans.

We have tried a number of different diet changes: special weight loss food, wet food only, mashed up veggies and our current attempt is measured food (grain free). Many of you will say, what do you mean that’s new, I always measure food. I never measured his dry food because he never ate it! 😉 He hated dry food so him over-eating was never a concern!

Here are Chase’s pictures from September before he started on grain free food

DSCN9632 DSCN9618

It’s been about a month on measured food (2 feedings, once in the morning and once at supper). I hope this works! Fingers crossed! I like to wait at least 3 months before checking his weight to ensure that I gave it enough time to work.

It’s hard right now exercise wise, the weather is -30 C so going on walks and playing outside is not an option! But, we play inside as much as possible!

If this does not work, I have no idea what to do from here…

Any suggestions???? I would love to hear from you guys 🙂

12 responses to “Help?! Weight loss for dogs!

  1. You made me laugh because my nieces dog is on the same food plan as I am. We both lost weight. We just eat half servings.
    Since her dog wanted more, she discovered that he likes canned unsalted french cut green beans. What? She gives him one half can of green beans and a half serving of his food. He does eat dry food.
    I wrote about it, an article “Dogs as My Dieting Partners.”
    I have lost 71 pounds with Gods help and i’m 62.
    http://www.talkingtomyweightlosscounselor.wordpress.com

    • I lost over 50lbs through exercise over 5 years ago and have kept it off! 🙂 Congrats to you!

      I tried green beans as I had heard some dogs enjoyed them, unfortunately Chase is not one of those dogs! The only veggie he enjoys is carrots.

      Yes, I have cut down his food and treats significantly so hopefully I have the same success as your niece did! 🙂

      • Her dog likes carrots too. LOL. There was a dashund that weighed 54 pounds and lost weight. He even had a tummy tuck after weight loss. You probably can google that one.
        Congradulations on your weight loss too. I do need to exercise myself. Sigh.

  2. When my female sheepdog was alive, she would everyone’s food and quickly became overweight. I had to segregate her from the other dogs’ bowls & ended up getting one of those bowls for her with the built in finger-like obstacles that she had to eat around. It slowed her up enough to allow the others who weren’t fast eaters to eat in peace. I did up her activity so she’d burn off more fat calories and build more muscle. By the time she crossed the Rainbow Bridge at the ripe age of nearly 15, she had a svelte waistline and the others weren’t starving either. Greatest single help was that little bowl. P.S. Would Chase eat dry kibbles if you added something like pumpkin mixed in? It’s easier to get them to lose weight with dry food with those bowls. Best of luck! 🙂

    • Thanks for the suggestions! 🙂

      Chase use to have a table scrap and treat issue (me and others to blame of course)… he has such a cute face when he looks at you, you can’t resist and you give him a taste of whatever is on your plate. I’ve since cut down on that a lot and have informed everyone not to give him anything that way I can monitor what he is getting each day.

      As for dog food, Chase has food aggression toward other animals so he always eats on his own. He has his own bowl in his room, he gets breakfast and dinner servings there. He is a snacker so he usually eats throughout the morning, he is not the kind of dog to devour it the moment it hits the bowl. The papillons are spoiled and my mother hand feeds them 😛 so there are no other bowls on the ground for him (the cat eats her food on a table so the dogs don’t eat it on her).

      I had considered pumpkin, but I was not sure how it helps dogs lose weight?

      • Ah yes, the cute face needs food look. The rule at my house is I eat my food, you eat yours and the two shall not mingle. It helps even when you get that “I’m just crushed AND starved look. Dogs can be so dramatic!

        Pumpkin is high in fiber which might trigger a full stomach thing. It’s good for them and increases digestion ease

        Good luck. I know having a food aggressive dog has it’s challenges; hopefully little tweaks here and there will get Chase on the road to slim. ❤

  3. I went on a low-calorie kibble a couple of years ago and added cooked green beans to help make me feel full. I’ve lost a couple of pounds, but more importantly, I haven’t gained any weight either. Sigh. Good Luck!

    • Haha, it’s a hard thing to do! I wish Chase liked green beans, I tried that he refused to eat them.

      I know your pain, Chase has gained weight steadily since I got him as a puppy! Even no weight gain would be a welcome change 😉

  4. I strictly measure the Girls food and any treats are fat dog small breed so that when I give them, I am not giving too many calories. Mazie doesn’t even notice the size difference in the treats. Have you tried the fresh frozen green beans? Mazie thinks they are treats too because they are cold. I keep an eye on rawhide consumption too. I am not sure how much or what you feed. I feed Science Diet Large breed. I used to feed light, but now it is Mature (old) dog and just one cup two times a day. Low sodium broth frozen into mini ice cubes make good low calorie treats too…but mostly in the summer and outside.

    • I’ve tried frozen, fresh and cooked green beans and Chase would not eat them at all! Darn! He will eat frozen, cooked and fresh carrots so I use those as a treat

      Rawhide is definitely something that confuses me as well, Chase loves it, but I have no idea how many calories are in them

      Love the broth idea, Chase eats plain ice cubes and Kong white cheddar flavored ice cubes, so chicken broth will be another yummy low calorie treat this summer, thanks! 🙂

      I feed him small breed dog food, 1/2 cup twice a day. I definitely worry about not giving him enough food or him being hungry, but I am trying really hard to get over it 😛 I know it is my problem and that if he was starving he would eat that dry food the second it hit his bowl. But he usually does not touch his breakfast until lunch time so he must be fine! I might add another 1/2 cup in the summer, I’m trying to account for his decreased activity in the winter as well

      It’s time for tough love, he has gained 5 pounds in the last year!

Leave a Reply

