Chase: Health Update

It’s been a few months since I have mentioned Chase’s health.

I have a lot of new followers so a quick summary: Chase has osteoarthritis and elbow dysplasia. He was diagnosed when he was just over a year old. I started him on glucosamine & Omega3 and it worked okay for the next year or so. But, his symptoms began to worsen again. I tried doubling the dose, but saw no significant improvement.

Read more details here: https://chasethesheltie.wordpress.com/2014/01/31/from-energetic-puppy-to-virtually-immobile/

In September, after an exhaustive search for a new medicine routine for Chase I came up with two things to help his joints:

1. Grain free dry dog food

2. 5 in 1 Joint Rescue (a canine supplement from a Nova Scotia company)

The results after 3 months of eating grain free food with a 1 tsp of joint rescue has been INCREDIBLE!

Seriously, words can not even begin to describe the differences I have seen in Chase. He plays all the time with his doggy friends and he plays like a puppy again! I was playing frisbee/tug-of-war outside with him and he is so strong now that I have a lot of trouble winning… I have to crouch to the ground to try to get enough leverage to win and he ends up pulling me forward! It’s insane!

Needless to say, I’m super happy and so is Chase 🙂

DSCN1492

***Keep this in mind if you or someone you know have a dog with joint issues at any point in their life! 🙂

7 responses to “Chase: Health Update

  1. So happy you found something that works for you and I sure will keep this in mind! Yay for Chase!

  2. Such outstanding news–thanks for sharing! This is like the gift that keeps on giving during the season of giving. 🙂 Hope you had a marvelous Christmas.

  3. I could not be happier for you both!!! What fantastic news!

  4. So glad you have something that works! That is excellent news!

Leave a Reply

