Grain free food?

Chase is overweight, every time I go to the vet she says the same thing, he needs to lose weight. I am well aware and have tried many different foods hoping he would shed some pounds. The vet recommended weight control food did nothing. With his multiple leg conditions, vigorous exercise is not an option.

My next attempt: grain free dog food. I have an aunt whose 2 dogs lost weight on a grain free diet so I figured it was worth a shot!

Plus, after researching, I found that the grain-free food may help reduce Chase’s osteoarthritis symptoms as well as help him lose weight!

It’s been almost two weeks on grain free food and Chase is actually eating it! I have been struggling to get him to eat dry dog food since he was a puppy! It’s a miracle!

I am skeptical that this will get Chase to lose weight. But, I am hopeful that it will help his osteoarthritis!

3 responses to “Grain free food?

  1. What are you feeding him? Just curious because I am always interested in what other pet parents feed. Mazie eats Science Diet large old dog and I only feed her one cup in the morning and one in the evening. Other tricks I have heard of is green beans mixed in for bulk since they are low calorie, frozen warmed up or canned (rinsed to get rid of salt). All the girls love the green beans as well as brussel sprouts which are low calorie.
    Kelly

    • I feed him one cup of: “NOW FRESH™ Small Breed dog food recipe is made with 100% FRESH turkey, salmon, duck, and 100% fresh Omega 3 & 6 oils from coconuts and canola. NOW FRESH™ also features zero grains, gluten, wheat, beef, corn or soy. Zero rendered meats, by-products or artificial preservatives.” – direct from their website/bag!

      He loves it!

      My aunt cooks mixed vegetables and mashes them up. I tried this, but Chase was not a huge fan. He does love chewing on fresh baby carrots though!

      • Oh wonderful. I am going to have to check into it! I don’t mash because they don’t like mushy. They love the steamfresh veggies and canned green beans. Oskar LOVED carrots but none of the girls like them. I am amazed at that.

Leave a Reply

