Does your dog burp in your face?

I always tell Chase how classy of a dog he is (sarcastically). One of his habits is burping while he is looking at me or right in my face when I am on the floor patting him. Today, he was chewing on a rawhide bone and let out a huge human-sounding burp! I decided to go to google and found this article:

 

http://www.dogster.com/lifestyle/dog-health-bloat-in-dogs-symptoms-treatment-ask-a-vet-burp

“Does Your Dog Burp in Your Face? It’s Actually a Good Thing if He Does!

Burping helps protect dogs from bloat, which is one of the worst things that can happen to a dog. “

 

I guess from now on I will say good boy Chase, no bloat for you 😉

5 responses to “Does your dog burp in your face?

  1. Good boy Chase. Burp all you like. I can’t wait to burp on my humans.

  2. Thanks for the link! Mazie always has very polite burps at least 🙂

  3. I had heard it was a sign of affection and in Sam’s case, I’m going with that. Bonus that it has a remedial effect on bloat. Over 30% of standard poodles get it-it’s particularly common in all deep chested dogs. 😦

  4. Yup! Ray does that. He also comes really close seemingly intent on giving my face a wash/lick/kiss and at the last moment he yawns. Looking down his throat (he’s quite a big boy) is …………………….. interesting!

    • Lol! Ray sounds like quite the character! I don’t know what it means when a dog yawns in your face haha If I’m down on the ground with him, Chase will give me a face wash as well!

Leave a Reply

